Page 1 of 1

Whats the rule?

Posted: Thu Sep 01, 2016 10:40 pm
by Gonzo
It was my understanding that when an offensive player fumbles the ball and his teammate recovers it ahead of where he fumbled the ball returns to the spot of the fumble. When it's 3rd down, you fumble it at the 2, the ball hits at the one, it bounces into the endzone, and an offensive player recovers it in the endzone, should it not be fourth-and-goal?

Re: Whats the rule?

Posted: Thu Sep 01, 2016 10:43 pm
by bigdaddyg
I just asked for clarification on another thread

Re: Whats the rule?

Posted: Thu Sep 01, 2016 10:47 pm
by JMappfan5
That rule only applies on 4th down. Dobbs fumbled on 3rd down.

Re: Whats the rule?

Posted: Thu Sep 01, 2016 10:49 pm
by ASU85Grad
He has a great future with the Raiders. Probably moved up their board with that forward fumble.

Re: Whats the rule?

Posted: Fri Sep 02, 2016 6:32 am
by mtnjax
For anyone questioning the fumble, if you'll think back to National Championship #3, we benefitted from a similar play where we fumbled into the endzone and it was recovered by an App TE for the TD

Re: Whats the rule?

Posted: Fri Sep 02, 2016 7:44 am
by WVAPPeer
mtnjax wrote:For anyone questioning the fumble, if you'll think back to National Championship #3, we benefitted from a similar play where we fumbled into the endzone and it was recovered by an App TE for the TD
I thought the same thing - Daniel Kilgore recovered it if I remember correctly - he was playing TE as an extra blocker ---